What's the oposite to amatonormativity?

Holmbo

So if amatonormativity is the prejudice that all humans should be in a monogamous romantic relationship. Is there any opposite word to that? The closest I could come to fit would be relationship anarchy. It would be nice to have some sort of umbrella term for things that promotes other relationships as equally valid.

it would help if the umbrella term was one word, just to increase searchability. Does relationship anarchy cover single/non-partnering acceptance? 

I'm not good with latin, but could a derivative of lifestyle-variety-acceptance be a possibility?

• Like 1

What do you mean by opposite of amatonormativity ?

Is it a societal norm that whould state that monogamous relationship are inherently bad ?

Is it something more about not having a prejudice against not having monongamous relationship ?

Because relationship anarchy is neiter (but widely encompass the second). Relationsip anarchy is treating relationship according to anarchist principles (even if the term have been recently massively reclaimed by many non anarchists). That roughly means trying to :

• not prioritize any relationship over another based on external criterias (such as amatonormativity)
  • not prioritize  relationships over what you want in life beside them
  • avoid things that could constrain you or your partners in something they don't want in the relationship (including sex, romance, friendship, monogamy, polygamy, bed sharing, comitment, etc.)

On 5/29/2020 at 4:24 AM, John Rando said:

What do you mean by opposite of amatonormativity ?

Is it a societal norm that whould state that monogamous relationship are inherently bad ?

Is it something more about not having a prejudice against not having monongamous relationship ?

The second option. I know RA is not that, but it's the closest term I could think of that describes it. 

• Thanks 1

There's no opposite of amatonormativity.