Allosexual aros: do you feel erased by aroaces?

Acecream

Do you feel erased by aroaces  

37 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Just wondering because I feel like when aromantic is shown and talked about everyone seems to mix it up with asexuality

i’m an aroace person myself and I feel like aro-representation should be a bit more allosexual than it is. Even in the aro-awareness week I saw a lot of posts on social media that were mentioning asexuality while I felt it would be necessary to part my aro from my ace identity (yes maybe they interact with each other, but they still are two different parts of my identity) and I fear that aroaces would be a bit gatekeeping...

• Like 4

I'm pretty new to explicitly identifying as arospec, so I don't feel like I could say I feel erased, but I definitely notice that I see aroace more represented than aroallo. 

I'm pan/bisexual and have identified as such for over half of my life, so I'm kind of used to that in a way. I think things are better from when I was a teen, but bi-erasure is still common and controversial. I imagine asexual erasure is more rampant, though. 

• Like 3

That's a good point. I do get tired of people lumping the two together & assuming that I'm ace, just because I'm aro. That said, I do think that we're slowly becoming more understood.

• Like 5

Less so as individuals, but I do get the sense that if a group claims to focus on aces and aros it will always be aces first with maybe a nod towards aromanticism. On the one hand I understand that a lot of these groups started as ace groups but as far as I am concerned if you take the name aro that should be something worked for rather than just tack the name on and call it a day.

• Like 5

On 3/18/2021 at 5:44 PM, Acecream said: