Is sexual repulsion related to romance repulsion?

Anon95

I and another member were talking about the fact that we not only experience romance repulsion when someone is interested in us but also feel sexually repulsed. 

Personally, when someone expresses their romantic feelings for me, I feel disgusted with myself and the person in question. And it is not only disgust towards the romantic part, but also the thought of sex grosses me out. The whole act itself becomes a big nope for me for a while. I’m 24 and I've never had sex, so I have no experience, but I'm normally neutral or positive toward it. 

Could sexual repulsion be related to romance repulsion? 

• Like 1

I am not sex repulsed at all and am very romance repulsed. I am very sex positive regardless. Being romance repulsed does alter how I see sex - I would have sex with friends or just casually, or have fwb relationships, and I don't hold sex to some sacred entity that only can be experienced with a partner, and that's very heavily related with aromanticism and my romance repulsion. 

If you're Aro and Ace, then both sex and romance repulsion could be related, but not really for alloaros (unless they have experienced sexual trauma perhaps).

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Maybe, you then associate sex with romance, and that's why you feel sexually repulsed? Or maybe, it is just the idea of sex in a romantic relationship that disgusts you?

Personnaly, I am more sex repulsed than romance repulsed, and I never see a connection between the two; but nobody ever expresses sexual interest toward me though.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

14 minutes ago, TripleA said:

If you're Aro and Ace, then both sex and romance repulsion could be related, but not really for alloaros (unless they have experienced sexual trauma perhaps).