What does platonic dating mean?

I've seen this a couple times on here. I really would like to know what this means and what the relationship would be like. What it would entail. Is it like friends with benefits? I'm a newbie to all of this and the aro community

In my experience, "friends with benefits" usually means someone you have a sexual but not a romantic relationship with.

My understanding of "platonic dating" would be more like, setting an evening aside to spend with one of your best friends to go out for dinner and a movie because you like spending time with them.

• Like 4

I'm not an expert, but I feel like I've seen it used in a few ways? More casually as going on date-like hangouts with your regular friends, or to mean actual dates with a platonic partner. I'm not sure if it refers to qpr dating as well, due to the confusing (to me) distinction between platonic and queerplatonic, but definitely the previous uses. I don't think I've seen the phrase used to ever imply a sexual component though, which friends with benefits specifically does (since the phrase usually means sex with someone you aren't dating or having a date-like relationship with as far as I know).

• Like 4

Honestly, platonic dating sounds really appealing to me...if it is what I think it is.  Which is basically the same as a QPR, no?

• Like 1

• 2 months later...

I personally don't get the idea of platonic dating. If I visit the cinema or a restaurant with a friend it would be no "date" for me because it's a friend.  It would be more like "just a normal trip" even if it's always the same special best friend

• Like 1

• 4 weeks later...

I have found the definitions for each word

Platonic love: Absence of sex or romance, rather based on the philosophical writings of Plato. Striving towards spiritual or ideal beauty.