Do I (and you) Want A Partner?

ink

I've been identifying as aro for about two years and as arospec for a few years before that, and I've been happy with that. While I knew about the existence of queerplatonic relationships, I've always said that I'd only enter one if I found the right person.

Lately, though, I've been craving more intimate relationships. Not romantic or sexual, but I've been finding myself wishing I had a person, someone to share my life with. I haven't been feeling lonely, exactly - I'm still content to do things alone - but I've found myself wishing for more.

I'm not sure if this is because more and more of peers are partnering up (I'm 25, this has been going on for a while, but I think it's gotten more extreme lately) or if I just haven't been spending enough time with my friends (whom I love dearly) or if something about me has changed. Am I just being affected by amatonormativity?

I don't even know how I would find a queerplatonic partner. It's not like dating - I don't think I could make that sort of connection with someone without first forming a natural friendship. I have one friend who I would have once wanted to be in a relationship with, but we've drifted apart, and other than her I've never felt close enough with someone that I actually wanted to live with them.

What do you think? I'd love to hear other people's opinions and experiences.

• Like 1

I don't even know what i want. Im 17 and I haven't had a crush since I was like 10, so I think I'm probably grayromantic or maybe cupio. Anyway, I feel like my ideal situation would be like, living with a really close friend. I don't even know how that would work, and I guess I could settle for being alone, but only if I had a lot of close people who feel like family to me. I guess that's more so what I want; not romantic love, but still love, the way you love a lifelong friend or your direct family. Honestly, I'm still figiring things oit and I'm very confused, but I hope this helps.