Aros as 'hardworking'?

such

I want to know if anyone else has experienced this - Where you often get comments about being a hardworker or people are in awe of the things you've achieved, even if you don't feel like it's much. 

I have a Masters degree, and I'm continuing to study for a second Masters full-time while working part-time. In my spare time I volunteer and try to learn new things. I've always shied away or become uncomfortable when people try to compliment me with comments about my achievements because I really don't feel like anything has been that challenging. I think I'm now realising that other people devote a lot of their time and energy towards relationships and romance, whereas I don't, and maybe that's why I am perceived as hardworking or high-achieving. 

Just wondering if others have any similar experiences?

• Like 2

I get the standard "wow you've got a PhD? So impressive! That must have been really hard." sort of comments every now and then. But anyone who knows me well will tell you I'm a very lazy person and would never do anything that actually requires real hard work. The success that from the outside looks like it must have taken a lot of dedication and effort was actually achieved because I find research easy and fun.

I don't think being aro has anything to do with it. I work with people who achieve much more than me, I have friends who devote most of their free time to volunteering, I know someone who has learnt 7 different languages for fun... all whilst also having romantic relationships. My sister has a husband and 2 children and she is far more successful career-wise than me, because unlike me she has grit and is extremely ambitious. It's just a matter of personality, interests, and skill/intelligence. Personally I put whatever time I might otherwise dedicate to pursuing romance towards hanging out with my friends.

Edited by Rolo
So many typos.
  • Like 2

21 hours ago, Rolo said: