Wrestling with imposter syndrome/denial

Guest Cynocephalus

Question

Guest Cynocephalus

I tend to mull about before confirming something about myself, and may need some input. I have been questioning for 3+ years and have realized that my experiences line up with being aromantic, I went on and off with acceptance since i was 17. I have sometimes thought 'what if i'm wrong?' but I know labels are not a static monolith. I have no one in my life that I can disclose questioning to and this makes me feel alone. I know that I have never felt the need or desire for a romantic relationship, even when I thought someone was otherwise attractive. What I used to think was romantic attraction I now know was just thinking a person is hot, no mushy feelings. I remember having a conversation with a family member where she asked me if I believe in love at first sight and I stated no (and this was before questioning), mentions of dating have always been answered with a not interested. I never felt or understood romance, I always thought people where overemphasizing their feelings. If I tried explaining this to anyone around I would be met with either 'you're just young!' or expletives regarding promiscuity. I want to be able to be comfortable in myself without having to doubt and hide. My whole life romance has been the 'default', especially in puritanical christian culture. If it's not a romantic hetero relationship you will be judged where i'm from. I was taught that the first opposite sex person you screw with is your spouse, it MUST be romantic. There is only one person with a pride flag in my neighborhood and it makes me feel a bit less alone, but I can't speak to them. I wish that I wasn't in denial of the obvious. some advice is appreciated. Thank You for reading my text wall. (:

5 answers to this question