questioning - please help!

rockyaro

sorry this is my first time here - i made this account today.

i was wondering if i am aromantic. i’ve been questioning it for a while but i’m worried i think this just because i recently realised i’m asexual and therefore think i ‘should’ be aromantic as well.

these are some of the things that have been confusing me:

1. i’ve never had a crush before (i’m not even sure what that feels like) but a big part of me does want a relationship with a guy.

2. i’m very affectionate with all my girl friends (hugs/cuddles, kisses on cheek, etc.).

3. i’ve never felt that uncomfortable with romance in books or movies.

could i actually be aro without adhering to most of the aromantic stereotypes?

7 hours ago, rockyaro said:

sorry this is my first time here - i made this account today.

i was wondering if i am aromantic. i’ve been questioning it for a while but i’m worried i think this just because i recently realised i’m asexual and therefore think i ‘should’ be aromantic as well.

these are some of the things that have been confusing me:

1. i’ve never had a crush before (i’m not even sure what that feels like) but a big part of me does want a relationship with a guy.

2. i’m very affectionate with all my girl friends (hugs/cuddles, kisses on cheek, etc.).

3. i’ve never felt that uncomfortable with romance in books or movies.

1. There are a lot of aros who still want to be in relationships/like relationships in theory, so the lack of attraction but desire to be with somebody still makes you aro! 

(also, squishes (platonic crushes) are pretty common for aros to have and often get confused for crushes)

2. Although those things can be considered romantic-coded in context, there also present in a lot of non-romantic relationships! I say as long as your friends are ok with that level of affection, theres nothing wrong with expressing your platonic love that way