I just realized I'm aro... and I have to come out to my partner.

ameddin73

Hi everyone! I'm Alex and I'm new here as of about an hour ago. I'm a software engineer, I ride a motorcycle, I like to do improv comedy, I workout, and I love TV/anime/video games.

I was also hoping I could get your help.

It's all in the title. I've had a few failed relationships in the past, and the idea that I could be aro has floated around. It's not until now, in my first real relationship (at 25), that I've really considered it seriously. I did a lot of research on reddit and read that anagnori list - and basically every point sounded like me. In some ways it's really relieving finally knowing why I'm repulsed by the idea of kissing or holding the hand of someone I genuinely love. Turns out I just don't love them romantically.

On the other hand, I'm really sad, fearful, and doubtful. I'm very sexually active and commitment-phobic, so I keep thinking maybe I'm just searching for an excuse for broken hearts in my past. Maybe I just feel bad that I don't love my partner the way they love me. I'm afraid because I feel like I've been lying this whole time, and I know I have to come out to them and I don't want to lose a what we have - at least platonically and physically. We're going to be having a conversation today. Finally I'm sad, because the idea of a romantic relationship seems amazing. It's something I've always wanted and dreamed of. Admitting to myself I'm aro means admitting I'll never have that.

So... sorry for dropping all that on y'all. I'm excited to be a part of this community, and if anything here spoke to you, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

❤️ Alex

• Like 3

Hey there friend! The scariest part is all this working up toward it. 

You arent lacking in anything and you arent being cruel to your partner. Thats what you need to know first off. I got married impulsively before I came out so I have a husband.