Is this normal?

Guest Anonymous

Question

Is it normal to have a racing heartbeat and blush around some person you used to think of as your crush but it wasn't a romantic one and was platonic and how to get rid of that feeling?? I wish I am not just telling myself that it's not a crush and it actually is one. I don't want a relationship or even talk to them but the symptoms are still there and I think about them against my will, it's freaking me out!! When I developed these weird feelings for them I didn't even know their name but it's been a year now and it has only gotten less intense. I will also go to the same school as them but a different grade and I don't want to embarrass myself by blushing around them

Telling them is NOT a chance

Help please! Any advice is appreciated, I want this to end!!!

7 answers to this question

I'm not an expert because I don't really have those feelings, but... As long as you don't consider these feelings as romantic, and as long as you don't want to go out with them then it's not a crush ! You're the one that gets to decide what your feelings are. Being excited to be around person doesn't have to be romantic.

• Like 1

Blushing and a racing heartbeat are just physical reactions and can occur in response to physical, emotional, mental, and/or psychological triggers. Which is to say that yes, it's normal. Some people will naturally blush more and experience a racing heart more often (even so to the point where it can be considered a medical condition). Some will natural experience these less. This can happen due to: anxiety, embarrassment, heat (temperature), desire, arousal, passion, fear, shyness, etc. It's very much largely just biological.

So let's break this down into some parts.