Hello! I'm new and I'm wondering if anyone can help me

spaceghostkid

Hello!

((Trigger Warning: self-harm))

I know that I am aro, but I had only realized this before I told my best friend I had a crush on her. She said she liked me back and I was so happy. A couple days later I realized I had made a terrible mistake. She was my closest friend ever and I could tell her absolutely anything. She became someone I would go to for comfort and I began to think I had a crush on her when in reality I just wanted her attention because I was suffering from self-harm. I told her everything and she was super supportive. Eventually, I stopped self-harming (yay!) and I noticed that I was distancing myself from her. I feel terrible that I lied to her and I don't know how she would react if I said that I don't actually have a crush on her. I'm very new to the aromantic community so I'm very confused about how to deal with this. Does anyone have any advice???

I was in a similar situation once, although admittedly mine lasted much longer and also started for very different reasons (no self-harm involved, but a lot more pressure from other friends who "shipped" us). My advice is to just... Be honest with her. I don't think it's really "lying" if you misunderstood your own feelings. Tell her your line of thought, explain the misunderstanding, and make it clear that you do still care for her in a non-romantic sense. She sounds like a good friend, so I think she'll probably understand.

Good luck!