Am I Aroace?

Guest Vii

Guest Vii

Being on the aroace spectrum is something I've considered for some time, but this is the first time I have decided to go to a forum about it. I am a student. I'm at the age where many of my friends are talking about crushes, dating, etc. We aren't at the age where a recognized relationship would be very long-term or intense, pretty much "I kinda like you and you kinda like me".

However, I feel like I'm missing out on "liking people". Maybe I just haven't found the right person yet, but I realized I've never ACTUALLY had a crush on someone. I've thought I've had a crush a total of 2 times in my life before, but looking back there wasn't really anything behind it, I just acknowledged that they were decently good-looking and I knew them kind of well so I thought "if I think they're cute, I must have a crush on them!" Or something along that line. 

But those thoughts may have only stemmed from the fact that romantic relationships are so often promoted in modern media - the books, TV shows, and movies that I and many others grew up with would depict two characters in love who would "feel sparks" or "get butterflies" because of finding their "true love", or "other half". And in other shows I've seen in more recent years, there is a character who sleeps around a lot like sex is a daily necessity in life.

And if I AM aroace, I like I'm missing out on this wonderful thing that the majority of others have. Any advice on how I can figure myself out and come to terms with things?

Hi! I feel like everyone says this (probably because it's true) but only you can decide your labels. I have had fairly similar experiences to yours, and to be honest, for me the feeling of "what if I'm just waiting for the right person?" still hasn't gone away and I'm not sure it ever will.