Help (TW slurs)

MaxIsCosmic

Question

I am a sophomore and I have a boyfriend who is the same age I am. I am white and he is black (this is important context for later). we are both on the aro spectrum and we are together a lot of the time in and outside of school. In my school district we have a free period at the end of the day for homework and we can pick what class want to go to. Him and I went to my math classroom to work on homework together. He had an audition for marching band after school and I could see he was nervous so I gave him a hug to help him calm down. Apparently someone recorded our hug without our permission and posted it to the internet with the caption “gay ass n*****” directed at my boyfriend. And apparently a lot of our school saw it because now we are both getting called the f slur in the hallways all the time and we brushed it off at first because it’s just something that comes with being openly gay (or bi in his case) but it hasn’t stopped at all and it’s kinda getting to me, I tried to report it to my school but they just accused me of making out with him in the school bathroom (which I have never done) and said if I didn’t want to be called that I should do that. Now i don’t know what to do I feel bad that he is getting called slur’s because of me even if I didn’t do anything on purpose he says he doesn’t blame me but is full feel bad plus I feel confused and angry that the school made up stories about us making out it feels kinda gross. I have kissed home before but that is at my house and not school even less the school bathroom. Is there any advice you can give me on what I should do if anything?

6 answers to this question