Recently realized I'm aro, and a QPP sounds exactly like what I want.

I posted this earlier at AVEN (I don't know if this forum and that one are connected?), and someone pointed me here. I'm new to both this forum, and to my aromantic identity, so bear with me. I sort of need to vent, and any advice or words of wisdom would be much appreciated.

I guess the way I feel about people I love can be easily mistaken for romanticism, and it makes me feel...I don't know. Insecure? Like someone is going to burst down my door and take my aromantic card away? I tend to form very intense emotional, intellectual, and even aesthetic attractions to people, and even long for physical interaction like holding hands, snuggling, etc (but this is very dependent on the person, doesn't happen with everyone I'm attracted to, and I definitely don't consider it romantic). When I develop a squish on a person, I find myself wanting to be with them, thinking about them in way that makes me happy, etc. But I try to see myself kissing them or doing other traditionally romantic things and there's just nothing there. It does nothing for me. It even feels a little bit gross, like trying to imagine doing romantic things with a sibling. The way I usually explain it to people is that my aromantic feelings for people I like/love feel very cool and crisp--refreshing, like an early winter morning. I remember the romantic relationships I've been in and those feelings felt hot, unpleasantly tense, and oppressive. It also feels weird, having figured this all out after I got married in a very outwardly heteronormative way (big ole Catholic wedding, in a Cathedral, no less).