Please help

Guest snowdrop

Question

Guest snowdrop

Hi! It's my first time posting here and I will try to explain the whole situation.

Me and my boyfriend started dating almost 2 years ago. At the beginning of the relationship we experienced some troubles. He seemed very cold towards me physically, wouldn't hold my hand or hug me or kiss me. As I am a touchy person and also with a very low self-esteem, I talked to him about this. Then he started kissing me more, hugging me more, started taking initiative in touches. It wasn't very often, but it was enough for me. We also had some problems on the intimacy part. For our 1st year together, we were barely intimate. I was always in the mood and he was the opposite. We tried everytime but no success. I was very patient and always reassured him that it's not his fault and it was not bothering me. But I know he was very anxious and felt guilty about the whole situation. After a year, it happened, and we began being intimate often, a few times per week. I always let him initiaite when he felt comfortable. We both felt good any time it happened.

And it was so great for a while. Everything was good. A few days ago he texted me suddenly that he wants to break up. It was very out of nowhere and unexpected as there have been no signals. We met and he told me he realized he is aroace. And as I am a touchy person, he decided we should break up and remain best friends. I couldn't imagine just dropping a 2 year relationship so quickly. We are so compatible mentally and emotionally, we always helped and supported each other and never judged the other one.