I have a crush on an aro person

Guest Anonymous

Question

Hi,

So I have a crush on a person I recently met, let’s call him Jake. I don’t know him super well, but I felt like we have a special connection, and we have really similar interests and quirks. I learned from one of his friends that he is aromantic, and I don’t know what to really do at this point.

Do I let go? Do I tell him how I feel? Is it possible that we can ever become a thing?

Also, I am fairly new to the lgbtq+ community, I only came out as panromantic a few months ago, and I am not super educated about this. 

Advice is very very much appreciated, thank you very very much! <33

6 answers to this question

I'm not good at advices but all I can do is share what I know ? 

As an aromantic person I would say that is the best for you to give up on that crush and make this person a close friend because that can be really cool. I know you probably can't control your feelings but friendships can be really really cool. If you felt a connection, then that means you can be super friends ! That's cool !

I don't know if you should tell them or not. I would say that communication is always the solution, because this way you can learn more about their aromantism (this is a spectrum, maybe they're not full aromantic), and how they would feel about you. However it can be hard for someone to discover that the person they considered as a friend didn't feel it that way, so if you just have a little crush you may consider not to tell them.

I hope someone can give you a better advice but that's what I've got

• Like 1

Not to give false hope, but some aromantics are open to dating despite not feeling romantic attraction.