How do you talk to people who don't understand?

Guest May

Question

Hi, so I am very new to the aromantic community. I'm still not even completely confident in identifying as aromantic but am going with it because it feels comfortable. For a long time I felt like I was doing something wrong because I am 23 and had never dated or found someone I wanted to date even though I like the concept of romance. I also never understood how people knew which gender they were attracted too if they hadn't dated someone before and wondered for a while if I was bisexual. Eventually I decided that asexual and aromantic seemed to fit best and it has definitely helped knowing there are other people who have similar experiences to me. 

I am only just starting to have conversations with my family and friends about identifying as aromantic and asexual and am finding it difficult to explain things when they clearly view relationships differently to me. I find I am getting comments like "your just overthinking it" and "you'll meet the right person and you'll just know". I don't think anyone is trying to be dismissive, but because they know I like the idea of romance in books and movies, I feel like they don't believe that I don't feel comfortable with the idea of me being in a romantic relationship. One of the people I spoke to tried to convince me that being in a romantic relationship is an important part of becoming more selfless and a better person. They didn't seem to understand when I tried to explain that you can learn those things in any relationship. They just said "being in love is different". 

How can I explain being aromantic to someone when they don't understand what is like to not experience romantic attraction or want a romantic relationship and when I don't even know what romantic attraction feels like so I can't definitively tell them its something I don't want?