I think I'm Aro

aronotace

I have recently decided I'm Aro. I am totally new to this world and all of this. I would like some help.

I haven't told anyone yet and I would like to. How do I go about that?

I have had crushes in my early years but didn't actually care it was just something people did, but I haven't had one for a while. I don't want to be in a relationship, I don't understand romanticism very well. I care about my friends and family but I would not like anything more than that.

I just want some advice about this kind of stuff. Know more about Aro, what challenges I might face.

its better to visit aurea for this kind of stuff. its basically a website for aromanticism with a variety of information that you might find helpful. heres a thread on arocalypse abt misconception regarding aromanticism as for the difficulties you might face coming out and such and thats pretty much all the info i have

What I find difficult about coming out advice is that coming out is, unfortunately, a lifelong process. How, why, when, and for what reason you come out can vary so wildly even just in your personal life for a variety of reasons (what kind of relationship you have with the person, why you're coming out, how old you are, how many times you've come out before, etc.).

The basic advice of coming out stands as:

• A lot of people will give you the opposite advice, and I absolutely hate it. Let your coming out be about you. You come out when you're ready. You come out when you want to. You come out in whatever way is safest and/or most comfortable for you (in person? through a letter? through a phone call? through a text?).
  • The best time to have potentially hard conversations like this is a neutral time when everyone's needs have been met (ie, everyone is reasonably well rested and has eaten recently enough because things like fatigue and hunger can make people impulsive, anxious, moody, easily frustrated, etc.).