Like trying to play poker using chess pieces

It took me five and a half years after I started ID'ing as ace to realise I was aro as well.

During that time, I'd gone through a few labels despite not having much love for the practice of labelling, because I'm a writer and I live for the rush of "finding the perfect word". At first I called myself a romantic ace, if an unconventional one. Then, as I became more proficient in Queer diction, I adopted grey-romantic as my go-to answer. I did so on the false premises that what I felt for this one particular man could only be romantic in nature.

I had a rulebook for poker in my hand (one word: amatonormativity), and a set of chess pieces in front of me (all those feelings, all those half-formed wishes and dreams), and I attempted to play poker with the chess pieces because some of it actually made sense: I had Kings, I had Queens, it stood to reason that I had the game figured out. Until the game started to make no sense.