Hi y'all!

vvv

Hey everyone! You can call me V, vvv, vee, whatever is easiest. I'm genderfluid and my pronouns are she/they. I have identified as bisexual for more than half of my life (I'm 27 going on 28 in a few months), but typically just call myself queer to encompass my attraction to many genders. 

I didn't know about aromanticism or the aro community until about six months ago, but when I learned about it I realized that it's something I've been dabbling in for a few years now. The more I think about previous romantic relationships vs. previous casual sexual relationships, I realize that I have always been very uncomfortable in romantic relationships and act like someone I don't recognize. I've never had a romantic relationship beyond 9 months. I don't even know how to flirt and usually have just gotten by in romantic relationships by being seen as conventionally attractive and feminine with masculine-perceived interests. 

I'm a very sex-positive person and have had plenty of "partnerships" where I had a platonic-sexual-aromantic relationship with people, but dismissed those relationships as being friends with benefits or just practice for the "real thing" whenever I found that "perfect someone." Never have, never will. I learned about relationship anarchy (RA) two years ago, but since learning about aromanticism, I've been taking more time to consider RA as a practice that can validate my identity, existing relationships, and future relationships without all of the anguish that I've been subjected myself to thus far.

I identify as greyromantic, I can acknowledge that I have had and probably will have romantic attraction to people, but most of the time it's just platonic or sexual. I've only come out as aro to two friends so far, one told me they feel the same, the other told me I probably just need some time to find someone while I'm in the right mindset!! Well, 1 out of 2 positive responses isn't bad.