Trans Doubt™

dewy

I've been identifying as trans for a few years now, and despite that, I still find myself doubting that I Really Am trans. It's a struggle because it makes me feel less confident in my identity. So I was wondering, do any other trans/nonbinary people here experience this? What are your thoughts on it? How do you deal with it?

• Like 3

On 3/13/2022 at 7:01 AM, bat said:

So I was wondering, do any other trans/nonbinary people here experience this? What are your thoughts on it? How do you deal with it?

It's an extremely common experience (and one I'm currently struggling with a lot). Doubting doesn't necessarily negate who you are. Impostor syndrome is easy to have when you don't (always, fully) identify with the gender you were assigned at birth, because we get a lot of messages on how being trans and/or nonbinary is either not possible, or that we need specific requirements in order to be so, and we're afraid of not being the gender(s) or lack thereof that we want to be or feel we are. But that sort of doubt seems to be common enough for some people to consider it a "symptom of being trans", so I wouldn't worry too much. Here's a non-exhaustive list of a couple of things I tend to do or tell myself:

• Weak or absent gender dysphoria