Greetings, all!

Hi,

I'm an introverted law student. I like dreaming about gaming, writing, and reading. I found out I was ace six years ago, senior year of high school, and that I was aro around my junior year of undergrad. I am currently pursuing my JD (Constitutional Law is amazing). I'm a gigantic nerd who did her undergrad in history (women's, mainly, but also European stuff because foreign policy is fascinating and both World Wars were horrible). Beyond that, I really like reading, writing, and loathe public speaking though apparently no one can tell I'm nervous when I am doing it. As to my identity, it was strangely straight-forward (ish).

So, I came of age during an administration that really pushed a vision of straight as the norm. My friends were all dating in high school, and though I wanted to join them, I literally could not and I didn't know why. I had no romantic attraction to anyone, though plenty of folks bet that I was gay. I also lacked sexual attraction. Given the focus of sex in high school (I was voted "most innocent" by the school paper in my senior year), I came into my asexual identity first. I found AVEN around 2009, when I was a senior, and the shoe fit me pretty well. I found out I was aromantic around my sophomore or junior year of undergrad. And my parents didn't believe me either time. Though progressive, they still had staunch ideas about relationships and specifically how people should mature in a society as focused on families as this one is. I think I've worn them down by now.