Aromantic Asexuals in Literature

Evy

Hi everyone!

I'm fairly new to arocalypse but I've been looking for forums for aro people for a while and this seems like a great place!

I was just wondering what you all think of the representation of aromanticism in literature? For one of my classes at uni I am doing a podcast where I hope to interview an aromantic asexual about acearos in literature, but I thought I might get a feel for the general vibe from a bigger audience first!

I, myself, am aromantic asexual and I find it incredibly frustrating that there is a major lack of representation of aros in literature.

So really this is a two part question:

1. What do you feel about aromantic and/or asexual representation in literature?

2. Do you have any aromantic and/or asexual book/film/tv recommendations?

Anyway, I'm Evy, I'm from Melbourne Australia, and I am very excited to be here!

Thanks!

p.s. I'm posting this in this forum because it's kind of research. but if there is a better place for me to post, I will happily move it. :)

• Like 8

Hi Evy!

Most of the literature I have read is French literature, and I can say that romance is highly present when it's not the main inspiration of writers. However, the play En attendant Godot (Waiting for Godot in English)  by Samuel Beckett contains no explicit romance and no sexual references. The two main character kinda form an old couple, but nothings indicates that it is romantic.

• Like 2

Jo in Little Women reads as aromantic asexual to me. She's based on the author who seems to have been gay (though that was no invented at the time ;)) So if you read "the extra material" so to speak she's not aro or ace. But the book just portray her as not being romantically or sexually interested in anyone.

The main character in Ann Leckie's Ancilary trilogy also reads as aromantic asexual to me. But it's complicated.