Personal story/need advice

Julia

I haven't posted anything on this website yet but I've been wanting to for a while now. It's a little intimidating because I've never done anything like this before, but here I go:

I've known that I'm aromantic for 2 years now, but I still keep dating because every time I think, "maybe it'll be different this time" or "maybe something will change" but it never does. I've always had the typical dream of having a loving family and my own children, but I'd also be happy living by myself with a bunch of dogs for the rest of my life. My fear with this is that, while I'm extremely introverted, I could get very lonely. I've never had a problem being alone for extended periods of time, in fact it's what I crave most of the time, but in those small moments when I need someone around who cares about me I'm afraid I'll never have that. I am still human and I do still need and occasionally want contact from others, but I can't just have a "normal" relationship because the other person always ends up thinking that I don't want to be with them or that I'm just an emotionless wall. I'd love a platonic-romantic relationship where the other person is aromantic so I don't have to worry about them "being in love with me" while being friends with a little extra "relationship" in the mix. I'm terrible at explaining things so I hope whoever is reading this gets what I mean and thank you for listening to my rambling.

Thank you for sharing!! :) It's intimidating to make yourself vulnerable to a bunch of us strangers on this internet forum, but it also shows how much you care about your identity and want to learn and share with the community. We appreciate that!