Hola a todos! Newbie here

Hello everyone! My name is Megan and I'm really super new to all of this. I'd known about the term "Aromantic" for a short while but for some reason it didn't really click until  a few days ago when one of my classmates asked me if I was asexual. I told her I wasn't sure and then made a comment about not being into the whole dating thing though (I've never dated a single person). After I said that, I made the connection that I might be Aromantic and well...now I'm here! When it comes to how I feel about romance, I'm not just completely neutral about it, I'm actually kind of grossed out about it. I've realized that I don't understand dating and crushes. Not to mention, whenever my friends talk about their crushes or their boyfriends/girlfriends, I have to resist rolling my eyes and I never know how to respond. It doesn't help that I'm not a very empathetic person either. I just find expressing love and compassion very difficult. Even non-romantic love is difficult for me to express. I've found that I always act aloof when a friend shows their care for me because I feel so awkward trying to express it in return. However I'm really great at expressing my emotions through writing. It's basically my only outlet for major emotions.

All throughout high school, I've told others that I don't date, not because my parents told me I couldn't, but because I decided I wouldn't. I also told myself that I'd wait until college to jump on the romance bandwagon but as I've entered my senior year, I've wanted to push that deadline to after college...or after I see more of the world  or...*continues to push deadline back* ...I never really said I would never date. I'd tell others that I was just being smart since statistics say 95% of high school relationships fail anyways. Though I've realized now that I basically have been avoiding relationships with fake excuses that others would accept.